Review – Bobbi Brown Velvet Plum Eye Palette

26Feb10

This is a gorgeous holiday palette, that I believe released overseas in 2008, but I only got last Christmas (2009) with a gift voucher that was a present. It’s a beautiful sleek palette with a shiny mirror like exterior (oh yes!) and four colours inside. The colours are great for green eyes, and because the signature colour ‘Velvet Plum’ is a metallic plummy colour they work well for smokey eyes.

The palette includes ‘Bone’ a matte off white, ‘Naked’ a peachy flesh toned matte, ‘Velvet Plum’ the most gorgeous plum metallic, and then ‘Espresso’ a classic matte brown based charcoal that can also be used as a cake liner. Bobbi Brown you nailed it!

Of all the colours, I find myself reaching for ‘Naked’ the most. It really is the most perfect peach that is ideal for defining the crease during the day. But because of these great colours you can combine them for evening too. Mostly I find myself darkening the crease with ‘Velvet Plum’ and pushing ‘Espresso’ into my top lashline dry. I have used it wet as a cake liner but because of the shape of my eye it seemed to smudge and rub off so I was left with a bit of a mess instead of a neat ‘liquid’ like line. I was disappointed that I couldn’t apply it wet, but I’ve gotten over it because of my infatuation with ‘Naked’.

The matte colours are slightly chalky, but are pigmented so it doesn’t bother me that much. All in all, I think it’s a great buy from an otherwise pricey range. I bought mine at Edgars for R450.00, which may seem like a lot, but I find that I don’t really carry any other shadows with me on a day to day basis. It really has simplified my makeup bag, and is great for travel. It comes with a small double ended shadow and liner brush, but it’s so tiny you need mini hands to make it work.

All in all a great buy.

Price: Pricey

Quality: Good

Repurchase: Yes!

Total: 8/10



No Responses Yet to “Review – Bobbi Brown Velvet Plum Eye Palette”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment