Loving and hating

21May10

I thought I should give you a little update on things I am loving at the moment and the products I am hating. My taste in makeup changes from week to week, and what I may find works really well one week, I can detest on my skin the next. I think this is probably a mixture of my up and down nature and the way I’m feeling inspired that week. Sometimes I want sheer skin, and sometimes I want full matte coverage. Sometimes I feel like pastel eyes and other times I can’t stand pastels on me. My busy lifestyle at the moment has changed the way I’ve been doing my makeup and so it’s only natural I’ve formed some close bonds and relinquished my hold on others.

So on to the products that I’m close to chucking at the moment:

MAC Studio Finish Concealer – I’ve been working on quite a few night shoots recently so lately I’ve felt like my skin has taken a bit of a knock. Darker rings under the eyes, and a couple of blemishes. This foundation was pulled out for its medium to full coverage and I hate it. The pot is unhygienic, the product is hard and difficult to blend, and then once the warmth of my skin melts it a little it creases under my eyes. All in all – yuck.

Rimmel Sexy Curves Mascara – What the hell? I love this mascara but lately this just hasn’t been working for me. When I have to be on set I want a simple look that shows I put effort in, but not like 30 mins of effort in at 4 in the morning. This mascara feels really crispy and has been flaking on me lately. Maybe I end up touching my face more often on shoots or the elements don’t agree with it, but I’ve been avoiding it like the plague.

MAC Smolder Eye Kohl – Normally love this product, but lately it’s just made me a hot mess. Completely smudging everywhere. I have no idea as to what’s changed but when I apply to the water line it ends up migrating into the lashline and beyond and before long I look like an over excited, over zealous emo with about 2 tonnes of black eyeliner all over my face. Uncool.

On to the things I’ve made my essentials:

Bioderma Photoderm SPF 100 for Face – This product is amazing. SPF 100 you may think is a little overcautious and a little overboard… but let’s be serious. I live in Africa and my job sometimes demands that I stand in the sun at peak times with little to no shade day after day. I also have fair freckled skin on my face… I imagined myself at 50 with leathery sun damaged skin and squamous cell carcinoma…no thanks. How does SPF 100 sound to you now? This formulation is non greasy and lasts most of the day. My foundation goes over it perfectly and there’s no white cast.

Essie Nail Varnish in Mint Candy Apple – This is the most gorgeous milky turquoisey green ever and I’ve been wearing for the last 2 weeks. It’s a retro colour that I love and I always get complimented on, and it makes your hands look pretty tanned. I found it incredibly difficult to find in South Africa and when I found one bottle it was stupidly overpriced, but you can order it on eBay alternatively and probably for a better price. But I needed it right then and there.

MAC Fluidline in Blacktrack – I’ve gotten back into kitten liner in a big way and have decided my eyes look best with a small flick to elongate them. I love this gel liner, it provides opaque black coverage and lasts all day. I actually apply mine with a fine brush I got from an art store.

And as usual my Chanel Vitalumiere… I can’t say enough about this, it’s really outperformed all my other foundations and I don’t even bother with any of the others, even on really hot days. If you haven’t tried this and you have dry to combo skin please visit your closest Chanel counter now. Really… it’s pricey but worth it.

Let me know what you’re loving and hating… Pricey or cheap.

Alexa

xx

No Responses Yet to “Loving and hating”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

