Review – Illamasqua Pure Pigment in Android

08Jun10

Hello beauties!

Illamasqua is one of my favourite brands; and even if their products were sub-standard I’d probably buy them anyway purely based on their ethos and philosophy. Make-up for your alter ego? Where do I sign up for my glittery drag queen of an alter ego? All the products that I’ve been lucky enough to try out have been mind blowingly (is that even a word?) pigmented. Above all else they’re fun to play with because they’re really inventive and as much as I love MAC they allow for an exciting break from MAC’s all too familiar product line.

The packaging is exciting, and the shape is really novel and new. The best thing about the lid of this baby is that it has a small stopper that prevents to pigment from overflowing excessively into the small sieve. Are you listening MAC? I love that I can open this without pigment flying everywhere.

From the three Illamasqua pigments I have this happens to be the most gritty or glittery – which doesn’t bother me so much. Although it is best applied over a relatively sticky base, something like MAC’s Paint Pot in Blackground and a more neutral shade. It’s a lovely charcoal, gunmetal colour with a hint of blue, which makes it perfect for a really dramatic smokey, sparkly eye.

This product does produce a bit of fallout, so that’s why I say a sticky base is a great idea. What I really like is playing around with different colours underneath it. Blues, purples, blacks, greens, this really is a versatile product. A few hours into wear it does loose some of it’s ultra glittery sparkle, which I found a little disappointing but I love this colour anyway.

If you’re not into dark or glittery then maybe this is a bit too OTT for you, but if you are then order or pick up this baby now! Unfortunately Illamasqua isn’t available in South Africa yet, but it’s in the UK, US, UAE and now Australia (lucky buggers). But if you’re lucky enough to own a sparkly credit card, then hit it at http://www.illamasqua.com, they’re £15.00.

Personally I’m drawn to sparkly stuff like a pedophile to playgrounds so how could I resist?

Alexa

P.S. If you haven’t entered my MAC giveawayDO IT! NOW! Why wouldn’t you want to win free shit?

One Response to “Review – Illamasqua Pure Pigment in Android”

  1. 1 Ashley

    Ooh pretty! I love Illamasqua, I have a few reviews for them I’ll be posting on my blog soon. Don’t have any pigments yet, makes me want some now though after seeing this!


Leave a Reply

