Review – MAC Paint Pot in Blackground

28Jun10

Hello my lovelies!

This is a review I’ve wanted to do for some time now, and for good reason, because I love sharing news of great products, and this is the shiz.

MAC Paint Pot in Blackground is a charcoal cream eyeshadow with a hint of glitter that only just translates on the eye. Worn alone it really does make a budge proof, smudgeproof black smokey eye, but the best thing about this product is that it can be used as a dark base for other metallic or coloured shadows or pigments. It primes the eye with a sticky, tacky base that sets very quickly but also brings out the best in bright shadows.

The packaging for this is awesome, I love the solid glass pot that it comes in, it feels like it has substance to it, although some people have mentioned having problems with the product drying out before you can use it all up. I haven’t experienced this at all with some of my other paint pots that I’ve had for over a year, so perhaps it’s shade based, and I’ll be interested to see if this dries up.

I find these types of products extremely versatile and own both a neautral Paint Pot (Soft Ochre) and Blackground and by layering your normal shadows over different bases you honestly can extend your shadows into endless variations. Blackground seems to deepen all jewel toned shadows, and make them that much more intense and beautiful.
One thing I did experience with this product is that you have to work extremely fast with it, because once it dries on the eye it’s almost completely budgeproof and only a good scrub or a decent eye makeup remover will dissolve it.
I normally apply by swirling my MAC 224 brush in Blackground and then working onto the lid, blending up until the crease. I make sure I get a solid, even, opaque base and then I layer coloured or smokey toned shadows on top.

I honestly think MAC’s Paint Pots are one of the best and most versatile products, so in my opinion completely worth the cash. It’s the type of practical product that breathes new life into any makeup collection by making all your other shadows appear different and new.

I highly, highly recommend!

Do you have any Paint Pots? Love or hate them? And how do you apply them?

See you soon!

Alexa
xx

No Responses Yet to “Review – MAC Paint Pot in Blackground”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

