My bests…

04Jul10

Hi everyone!

So I’m finally back online after a forced hiatus from blogging after my internet packed up. It’s taken forever to get someone to come sort it out, and when they finally did come it was a simple 2 minute fix outside in the box that houses all the internet cables… Argh.

Moving on… this is a tag that’s been floating around online and it gives you some insight into my favourite brands and products and why I love certain ranges so much. Feel free to do it yourself, and then let me know and comment with the link, because I’d love to have a look at your faves.

And now on to the best in show…

  • Best Blush Brand:  Bobbi Brown is so underrated sometimes but has a great selection of beautiful, wearable, everyday blushes that are available in different finishes. I like her philosophy, and their blush shades are all natural and provide the ever elusive glow that we all look for. MAC comes in second for me, with a massive selection of shades and finishes that allow you to create any flush you desire; some favourites for me: Peachykeen, Ladyblush and Harmony.
  • Best Eyeliner Brand:  If we’re talking gel or liquid I would have to give the honours to Bobbi Brown once again. Their Long Wear Gel eyeliner performs way beyond the call of duty and doesn’t flake or smudge. In terms of kohls or pencils my favourite goes to Revlon. They make wonderful, affordable eye pencils in sensible colours that really stay on. Namely their Color Stay pencils.
  • Best Eyeshadow Brand:  MAC hands down. They have the biggest variety of shades and textures, and they offer wonderful pigmentation for a very affordable price, bar their lustre formula which is a glittery mess of bad pigmentation. But despite this they still offer a great product in the eyeshadow department.
  • Best Lipstick Brand: MAC is great for it’s wonderful variety of colours and finishes… from matte to moisturising they really do it all, and you’re guaranteed to find something that will make you feel amazing. My all time favourite is Russian Red, a matte blue red worn by Madonna back in the 90s during her Blond Ambition World Tour. If you’re looking for something a little more special then my favourite has to be Chanel. Their lipsticks are luxurious and classic and the cult product Mademoiselle from the Rouge Coco release is so gorgeous you may just find yourself feeling as French and gorgeous as Vanessa Paradis who wears it in the campaign.
  • Best Lipgloss Brand:  Estee Lauder has some amazing lip glosses. Their limited editions always have amazing on trend shades that can be used in any season and despite what you may be thinking, this isn’t an old fashioned brand at all.
  • Best Foundation Brand:  I may be biased but I love Chanel foundations, I own both the Vitalumiere and Prolumiere foundations and am their biggest advocate, although their colour range sucks. If you’re not Caucasian and have much darker skin you’re going to be furious that Chanel doesn’t make dark shades and I am too. Get with it Chanel! If you have darker skin Make Up For Ever does some amazing foundations from their light Face and Body to their HD foundations and they have plenty of shades, in numerous tones… Yay for diversity.
  • Best Nail Polish Brand: Illamasqua wins this one for me. The nail polishes that I’ve tried from this wonderful brand have been flawless in formula and great in wear, and the shades make me squeal with delight. I love Essie too, although their formulas aren’t as consistent, and some of their more nude colours are a total bitch to apply.

Send me your favourites, I wanna know what floats your boat!

Alexa

xx

No Responses Yet to “My bests…”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

