MAC Fix+ and why I’ll pay good cash for this stuff!

29Oct10

Those who are familiar with MAC and their range will have either tried or come across Fix+ at some stage of their beauty and makeup obsession. I met this “skin refresher and finishing mist” as MAC calls it about 3 years ago in film school.

MAC says

An aqua-spritz of vitamin and minerals, infused with a calm-the-skin blend of green tea, chamomile, cucumber, topped off with the fresh, natural, energizing scent of Sugi. Adds radiance, finishes makeup. Spray it on. Skin drinks it up!

It doesn’t say much about how to product should be used, and a lot of people are of the opinion that it’s no more than expensive water.

I disagree… let me tell you why!

I use Fix+ on set all the time, and although people believe if you give your freshly made up skin a spray it will help your makeup last longer, this in my opinion is questionable, and you’re better off spraying hair spray all over your face. Believe me some people do this, and on occasion I have squirted body art with a little ‘fixative’ (ie hairspray).

Fix+ is beyond brilliant for some things though.

  • I often spray it over a freshly powdered face to get ride of that powdery look; there’s nothing worse than powder sitting on the skin, but Fix+ helps it melt into the foundation and push some radiance back into the skin.
  • At the beginning of a makeup application I spray this on the skin to moisturise, I let it sink in for a couple of seconds then go ahead with foundation.
  • I spray Fix+ onto a latex sponge to dampen it slightly and then use the damp sponge to blend out foundation edges, or other areas that are prone to looking cakey. I find this works wonderfully on more mature actors when product begins to settle in lines.
  • To convert dry eyeshadows into wet ones, to create that ‘foiled’ look on the eye, I spray my brushes with a little Fix+ then go ahead and apply.
  • I often spray it on actor’s faces to refresh their makeup before I do any touch ups.
  • And the best… when you’re on set and it’s blisteringly hot and you look awful, I give myself a quick spray all over my face because it’s lovely and cooling and smells nice.

If you’re looking for a spray that will make your makeup last longer, I don’t think it’s this, but this is a great product for overall application. I probably use it in many more ways than I can remember now, but once you become familiar with it, you begin to realise its full potential.

If you’re not so sure, and not keen on the price You Tube guru Koren makes a homemade version… Check it out, he happens to be really cute and enthusiastic.

Are there any products you’ll pay for even though you know they’re no miracle?

Alexa

xx

No Responses Yet to “MAC Fix+ and why I’ll pay good cash for this stuff!”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

